Water for Elephants, post A, week 1

In Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, I found 2 vocabulary words:  Devoid (p. 15), which means not possessing or owning something, untouched by, missing, void, and Pneumatic (p.10), which means Operated by air or the pressure or exhaustion of air.  I was also able to find three examples of figurative language.  For instance, page 12 includes a metaphor. “Age is a terrible thief.  Just when you’re getting the hang of life, it knocks your legs out from under you and stoops your back” (p. 12). This passage from the book is a metaphor because it is comparing to very unlike things, aging and thieves.  On page 22, you can find an instance of a personification. “I’m aware of a heavy, wet noise, and realize it’s me,” (p. 22).  This is a personification because heavy and wet are usually things used to describe humans, not noises.  By doing this, the author personifies the word noises.  Also, on page 24, a simile can be found.  “My feet slip in the sloping gravel-it’s like running in sand, and I compensate by pitching forward,” (p. 24).  This is a simile because it is comparing two unlike things, sand and gravel, using like or as.  While reading, I found a quote that I find significant. “Although there are times I’d give anything to have her back, I’m glad she went first.  Losing her was like being cleft down the middle.  It was the moment it all ended for me, and I wouldn’t have wanted her to go through that.  Being the survivor stinks,” (p. 13).  I found this quote to be significant because it greatly shows the reader the pain Jacob must be going through, with losing his wife and being elderly and all.  It also shows the reader how caring Jacob is.  One emerging theme in the book seems to be grief, such as when Jacob finds out that his parents are dead and he spends must of his time grieving.        

   

Leave a Reply

