My book choice; Water for Elephants

The name of the book I have chosen is Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.  The book was published in 2006 and is a work of fiction.  The book is 335 pages long.  The book has been a #1 New York Times bestseller and has been a bestseller on numerous other lists.  It has been be getting amazingly good reviews from newspapers and magazines around the country and I currently know of many adults who are reading it.  Even though the book is a pretty easy read from what I’ve read so far, the author does challenge the reader to enter the mindsets and situations of her characters, and to understand why certain characters in the book act the way that they do.  Not to mention all the emotions and themes that the reader experiences when reading, such as lust, love, anger, loss, tragedy, and jealousy, just to name a few that I have already encountered. For these reasons I feel the book is sufficiently challenging for a high school sophomore.  I chose this book because of the great reviews it has received, not only from newspapers and magazines but from peers and friends.  I chose a work of fiction like this over a work of non-fiction because I adore the way an author can, using only his or her mind, create a story so engulfing, the reader has no choice but to enter a world he knows is untrue, has been told is untrue, and yet, every time he reads it, even if for a split second, the story feels truer than you or I could ever hope to be.     

Leave a Reply

