Water for Elephants, post A, week 4

After reading the fourth part of Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, I was able to find two vocabulary words; inconsolable (p. 207), which means one that can not be comforted, and pirouette (p. 202), which means a whirling about on one foot or on the points of the toes, as in ballet dancing.  I was also able to find a number of examples of figurative language, like this example of a simile; “I turn my head slowly, chin raised like an Egyptian pharaoh, training my gaze on the magenta and white striped big top” (p. 175).  This is an example of a simile because Jacob isn’t really an Egyptian pharaoh, so he’s comparing two unlike things using like or as.  I was able to find another simile in the reading as well; “My brain is like a universe whose gases get thinner and thinner at the edges” (p. 219).  This is a simile because Jacob’s brain isn’t really a universe, he is merely comparing these two unlike things using like or as in order to explain the complexity of his elderly mind.  I was able, once again, to find another simile as well; “I scoop Walter up like a sack of flour and toss him inside” (p. 207).  This is a simile because Walter is not a sack of flour, but Jacob is comparing these two unlike things using like or as in order to explain how he picked up Walter.  In the reading, I was also able to find a quote that I found significant. “’I…I’m not really sure,’ she says. “I hardly know what to think anymore.  I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you.  I know what I’m feeling is wrong, but I just…Well, I guess I just wondered…’” (p. 195).  This quote, which is said by Marlena to Jacob, is significant because it’s the first time Marlena really admits she has an infatuation towards Jacob.  One emerging theme in the book right now is suspense, especially about what is going to happen between August and Jacob, if anything.    

   

Leave a Reply

