Water for Elephants, post A, week 5

In this part of Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, I was able to find two vocabulary words that stood out to me.  Pachyderm (236) which is an elephant and grimace (241) which means a facial expression, often ugly or contorted, that indicates disapproval or pain.  I was also able to find some figurative language in this part of the book, like this example of a simile; “’Did I catch you at a bad moment?’ he says, looking up at us.  He sounds as though he’s just asked someone to pass the salt” (244).  I know that this is a simile because it is comparing the two unlike sentences of passing the salt and intruding on a couple by using like or as.  I also found this example of a metaphor; “And then the shower of money starts-the sweet, sweet shower of money” (237).  This is an example of a metaphor because it is comparing two unlike things, in this case showers, which are usually put together with water, and money.  I also found this example of a simile; “She straightens her knee slowly, her other leg pointing to the side, toes extended like a ballerina’s” (236).  This is an example of a simile because it uses like or as to compare two unlike things, in this case Marlena, a circus performer, to a ballerina.  I also find a quote that I thought was significant.  After about an hour she falls asleep, sliding down until her head rests on my shoulder.  I remain awake, every fiber of my body aware of her proximity” (253).  This quote is significant because it is really the closest Jacob and Marlena have ever consensually been to each other.  One theme emerging in the book right now is heartbrokenness, especially when Marlena leaves August.             

Leave a Reply

